Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Help with USPSA rules in these situations, please

Sharyn

I'm still fairly new to USPSA and at a recent match I was confused on some of the SOs calls. Clarification of the situations encountered would be greatly appreciated!

Situation #1: Steel popper placed in front of a no-shoot. Shot clearly hits the steel and puts it down. Bullet fragment (?) leaves a large, elongated hole in the no-shoot.

• Call: No-shoot penalty, -10.

Situation #2: Stage begins with loaded gun on top of towel on top of table. Wind blows the towel over the gun prior to "Shooter Ready?" Shooter carefully puts the towel back in it's place without handling the gun.

• Call: "I should DQ you for that but I'll let it slide this time."

Situation #3: Shoot six, reload, shoot six. Virginia count. Shooter shoots four, reloads, shoots six.

• Call: Two mikes only.

Situation #4: Field course, shooter outruns the SO, finishes the course (maybe?) and the SO runs into the back of the shooter.

• Call: None and no reshoot mentioned.

Situation #5: Shooter makes three center mass hits on steel pepper popper with major .40 loads and it goes down on the fourth hit.

• Call: No reshoot. "Some steel targets are tricky and you need to hit them just right." Calibration is mentioned and the SO responds with "You should have stopped shooting and asked then."

Thanks!

• Replies 78
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

hey sharyn - i think i can clear up a couple of those situations... lets see

situation 1:: if theres a clear hole in the no-shoot... it needs to be a FULL DIAMETER circle to count as a no-shoot, ive had that situation before, and its contestable. if its on the perf... then has to be a clear round/semi-circle hole - if not, definitely ricochet hit

situation 2:: haha thats retarded - it can happen - no dq

situation 3:: im not so sure on this one, definitely the 2 mikes at least... but i don't know if theres penalties