Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

So I want to make my Wilson SS a L10 hot rod

KentG

I started shooting L10 this year with my IDPA gun, a Wilson stainless protector with the mainspring housing magwell combo, thin grips and XS big dot sights. I have and am having a blast.

However I have this itch. I was thinking of going Limited and may down the road, but for now I have good time and prefer shooting SS 1911's. I also think its pretty obvious you can shoot what you want but the intent of the L10 class was aimed at the SS gun.

That leads me to the other Wilson all grey protector I have in my nightstand doing nothing and feeling unloved.

Lets say you want to take a stock ss and do it up to the max what would you do?

I was thinking a bucket sized magwell if I can find one and fibre optic sights to start. What is the legal limits on ss L10 as far as magwells?

I might consider just selling the Wilson and buying a new SS L10 from (suggestions please) a smith/mfg who makes something close to what I describe. I also want to stay with the 45ACP, I love those big holes.

With an existing SS gun and under the umbrella of 'taking it to the max', I'd do the following:

- Have the frame and slide trued and if necessary Accu-railed

- Check the barrel fit or fit a new bull barrel

- If the gun doesn't have a full length guide rod, put in a stainless one or Sprinco.

- Bo-mars and a Brazos Micro-Dot for sights

- Trigger job

- Overall internal inspection/reliability package done

- S & A magwell

- Frame recountoured a smidge for a higer grip

- Slide work done (ejection port, e.g.)

- Aftec Extractor

- Chrome the gun

That about covers it. I'm sure I'm missing something. An 'easier' alternative may be to sell the existing gun and buy a STI Eagle. Just a thought. Nice big hole to stick 10 round mags too.

Rich