Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Whats a good AR 15 to go with

g929

Hello guys I'm new to fire arms and am looking for any advice to help me choose a good reliable AR 15 to go with.... Thank you all in advance..... Happy shooting

Edited by kellyn
spelling

For now recreational and meybe more advance

Recreational is kind of broad. Do you want to shoot three gun? If so what division. Most importantly what is your budget? I would say look at the Stag 3g as the best entry level three gun rifle. There are lots of choices and when you get to the top JP and Noveske are great choices. It really depends on how much you want to spend.

Pat

Well for 3gun I'm at the bottom of the list but lets say when all of you started out what was your level?

But I'll say $1500 to 2000 or if all you guys can tell me if is cheaper to get it by parts.....

Edited by kellyn
spelling

Well for 3gun im at the bottom of the list but lets say when all of you started out what was your level

Bujet ill say 1500 to 2000 or if all you guys can tell me if is chepper to get it by parts.....

Does that include the optic?

Pat

For a beginner and first AR I'd go with a RRA Operator II. http://www.class3weapons.com/Rock_River_Arms_Operator2_s/122.htm I don't think that this gun is a handicap till you start shooting beyond 350 yards. The rifle has guaranteed accuracy and I've seen them in action.

I do have a custom build\t AR for 3-Gun 18" and all that but I'm still thinking of getting one of these for those local matches, and the more common IDPA 2 Guns and Combat 3-Guns.

Don't shoot Bi-Metal ammo in your AR, you know that Wolf and Serbian ammo, the steel jacket under that .00005 thick copper coat will ruin the barrel. I turned a nice accurate Bushmaster AR into a piece of Junk with that ammo.