Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

9mm major barrys bullets

Nightrain

I realize there is tons of data here for major loads.. Was just wondering if anyone has any experience with barrys 9mm 124gr HBRN-TP

For my background.. I am currently building an open gun from a xdm 9mm.. I realize this doesn't even compare with the sti's and limcats but ATM is what I can afford..

I have 10s of thousands of rounds o reloading behind me... Primarily 45 & 357mag.. I have only recently gotten involved in competition and I have always tried to reach for the clouds in all I do

Thanks for any info.. Suggestions for mods I should make to the xdm.. Here is what I have decided to do so far:

Storm Lake 9MM threaded barrel 4/5"

Springer Precision 3 Port Compensator

CARVER Custom XD/XDM Competition Mount*

C-More Slideride *6 MOA*

PistolGear Unlimited Magwell*

CARVER Custom Slideracker*

Springer Precision Custom XDM Uncaptured Guiderod

I'm new to the pistol modification process.. Will this setup work for major.. If not what suggestions do you have?

Thanks for the info

I loaded to major in an M&P's Stormlake threaded barrel quite easily with HS6 and 1.155 OAL loads. Same barrel material, same viability. I can't make any specific suggestions on this topic. I did it with jacketed bullets and lead, not copper plated.

Don't take this to mean that you can safely do it, just stating what I have done.

Edited by Whoops!

Search for Berry's bullets on here. The consensus is they won't cut it at Open velocities. A while back a rep from Berry's came on here and asked if we had any questions. I asked him point blank if they will hold up at 1400+ FPS. He didn't even bother to respond. So I will take that as a NO.

Couple of things about Berry's bullets