Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

which mods actually matter?

Kimberkid

Hey guys I am brand new to 3Gun/Multigun and hoping you can offer some advice. I am looking to get a new shotgun for tactical divisions, and am torn between an SLP, Benelli M2 and SX2. I am a bit confused by which mods are actually worth what they cost. I dont mind paying good money, but I want to be sure I got my moneys worth. I have test shot an SLP and SX2 both in stock configuration, and am leaning toward an SLP but am open to advice. I am a bit curious why Benellis get more love than others, when all reports say they are most expensive with more recoil.

I am also a bit confused on capacity rules. I know rules vary a lot for some of the "rogue" 3Gun matches but for USPSA Multigun, or for the other most common matches, what is the rules on "Ghost Loading"? I was told that 8 rds + 1 chambered is the max for tactical divisions. How does Ghost Loading fit with that rule? I was also told that it is not possible to Ghost Load an SLP, is this a big drawback? or a small one?

In your opinions, which of these mods are worth their cost to a middle of the pack shooter, a guy who is competitive, but more concerned with fun?

1. Opening up loading port

2. Backboring

3. Lightening Bolt

4. Trigger work

5. Modified lifter

6. Any others I forgot??

Thanks guys for any/all advice.

Edited by Kimberkid

This may be tough as I don't think the priority list will hold true from model to model. What's most important to one design may not be to another.

To me, opening the port was the most important thing I did to my M2. But not all guns are as narrow/sharp as the stock Benelli's receiver is at the bottom.

Edited by cas

Welding up the lifter on a Benelli is pretty important for most folks too. I think I lucked out genetically and find it hard to get my thumb stuck in a stock lifter but i can see how it is possible. Mine has never bit me but it has trapped the thumbs of several people who have shot it.