Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

How do you pie around a barricade?

SeaTact

Having watched a good number of shooters at IDPA meets, I'm seeing 2 styles when one shoots around a Bianchi-style barricade. Some (this is what I've been doing, as a relatively new shooter) keep their torso and their gun vertical while they pie around-- the sight stays straight up-and-down at 12 o' clock. Others seem to lean at an angle, they're still "indexed", but their torso and their sights are angled off-vertical-- 10 degrees, 30 degrees, sometimes up to 45 degrees if they have to pie way the heck around.

Is there a "right" way to do this-- as long as you don't violate the 50% rule?

Edited by SeaTact

I just recently finished an S/O class, so I'm pretty new to making judgement calls. But, there was a big discussion on this issue. The rule says 50% of the upper torso. Our instructor insisted that it was 100% of the lower body. He's been wrong before on issues so I'm not absolutely positive on this one but it is the way I'll have to enforce it at our club until told to do otherwise. It was brought up that the majority of all "cover" calls/penalties are for feet and legs. I know when I S/O, I'm more lenient on individuals that are advanced in age or physically challenged in a way that makes it more difficult for them to lean that far. But lean you must if you don't want a cover call. All of the better shooters I've seen lean and still have their head and shoulders pretty upright meaning they are not canting their guns very much if at all, with a few exceptions.

Page 76:

Cover: 1) More than 50% of the shooter’s upper torso must be

behind cover while engaging threat targets and/or reloading. For

low cover, one knee must be on the ground and for vertical cover

such as a wall/barricade, 100% of the shooter’s legs and feet must

be behind cover.

Did you not read through the rulebook at your SO class?