Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Developing my own style...

Ron Ankeny

Three years of relentless practice, over 130 classifiers shot, 5 division Master and then I realized I don't know jack about my own shooting style.

I have been doing a lot of work in the last few weeks and things are starting to come together. Last night my friend Sam nailed it when he told me, "You are finally developing your own style based upon what works for you." I am so stoked words can't describe my new found enthusiasm.

OTOH, it amazes me that I could get as far as I am today and still not really "know" myself. I have expended a tremendous amount of energy and resources developing technique, but I have never really seen what has been right in front of me all along.

I am fairly new to the IDPA/USPSA competition (one year) and I have found that taping my matches has shown me where to focus during the next practice/match session. Constructive comments on performance by fellow shooters has also helped. I seem to understand my "partially developed" shooting style through these two items.

I have seemed to progress over the past year by reviewing the tapes and understanding what I need to work on. I started as a L10 at 18%, ended last year as Lim at 49%, and shot my first Open classifier yesterday at what I am guessing is about a 66%. :)

Ron,