Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Frustrated and ready to give up.....

Newguy

The title of my post says it all. I've been shooting IPSC for about 2 years in L-10 using a Kimber .45 that fits my hand--all the right mods for me. I'm in my mid-50s so this has been a late sport for me. Anyway, I don't seem to be getting anywhere in terms of my scores (or classification). My points in local matches are fine--usually in the top 20-30% of my class but my times are really pathetic. I'm usually the absolute slowest by a WIDE margin (sometimes as much as 20-30 sec. per stage). When I speed up, I drop way too many points and get too many mikes. So I slow down and my times plummet. What's frustrating is that even though I practice a lot, I'm almost exactly where I was last year--no real improvement. I've read Brian's book and it was helpful but it didn't translate into my being faster when the buzzer goes off. I'm left-handed and cross dominant (which I've learned to compensate for by canting the gun). One problem is picking up the sites (I'm hunting around), but even when I seem to pick them up quickly, my times still really suck (the last). When I'm shooting I don't feel slow but then when I hear the times I'm bowled over. BTW, my grip and stance are probably okay, but I still haven't been able to find my natural point of aim. The funny thing is that I'm fast in most other things I do. In IPSC shooting, though, I don't seem to be processing what's going on fast enough--some sort of delay. What''s frustrating is that I see guys who started about the same time and they're approaching B class while I'm still at the bottom. Any help is appreciated.

Have you thought about some type of personal instruction. they might be able to help pick up on things and help you improve that way..

I found video tape help me analyze my shooting..it showed me where I was wasting time..