Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

STI Tribe

Grandpoobah

Hi:

I would like to make a few comments as to how I approach a new gun.

I have been shooting Briley Semi-Custom guns for over fifteen years in .40 S&W.

I have just had a custom SVI .38 S.C. built - and while waiting for it - I picked up an almost new STI Trubor that was previously owned for two weeks.

I installed an Aftec 9mm/38 S.C. extractor and a EGW 9 mm/.38 S.C. extended ejector as I will shoot .38 Super Comp and it comes as a .38 Super.

In all I have had a total of perhaps ten or twelve STI/SCI guns from Limited to Open and I have never purchased a "reliability package" nor would I recommend one.

A gun should shoot as received - it may take some rounds to break in but a reliability package is like undercoating on a car - it is akin to a scam.

It is as ridiculous as "tuning mags".

The TruBor that I purchased was one of the few that I've seen with a good slide to frame fit and a really nice barrel lock-up.I was pleased to find one and I am impressed with their fit and finish. I can only hope that it is representative of their production in general.

The gun worked 100% - but I have to add that the majority of problems people experience are a) magazine related, B) ammo related, or c)extractor/spring issues, or d) "exotic" parts that are added.

First I suggest only use of SVI mags - they are superior - do not tune them - you may tune your piano but not your mags - they are formed in hydraulic presses and when they leave the factory they are right. If you drop a big stick with 29 rounds in it the lips, similar to the Kinetic effect in a bullet puller , will spread. So you must ensure that the lip spacing is to factory spec. That, and a Grams follower and spring and a Dawson +1 SNL base pad and you are good to go. Naturally check the mag release and verify that the magazines are positioned correctly and they drop when released (empty).