Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

XD9 Tactical

ETexPops

Noob here with a brand new XD9 Tactical. Right off the bat I have a question about the sights. My 61 year old eyes don't pick up the white dots too well so I'm thinking about fiber optic sights (at least for the front). Wondering what sights you XD shooters like best. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Pops

I'm a 60 something with eyes on the downhill side. Most of my shooting is done at our weekly Thursday evening outdoor matches. I shoot an XDM 40 in Limited with Truglo Tritiums front and rear, an XD 9mm in Production with HiVis front and a Stainless Taurus 1911 in Single Stack with Novak FO's. Nearly any fiber beats standard white dots for me. I even shot a 12 paper target stage one down last nite with the 45 Taurus . :goof: Couldn't have done it without the FO's.

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Ah that I were young enough to have focus now that I see the use of it. - Me

Buckaroo I know what you mean; ANYTHING beats the white dots for older eyes.

Hueycrew, thanks for that suggestion. I was leaning toward the red fiber optic Dawson front but wasn't sure about the rear. The Warren Tactical looks like a good option. Red against the black background ought to work for me. Guess my next question is why the Warren rear sight and not a black Dawson rear? Notch width? What makes it better?

I like the shape more than the traditional squared edges. Wide notch is nice too. I don't think the front is a Dawson.

With the Dawson sight sets the front and rear are taller. The Warren is a lower profile.

Warren Tactical series

This link should take you to a good photo of the sights.

Edited by hueycrew

Thanks Hueycrew. Found that on Pistol Gear's site last night. Good to know that the Warren is low profile and think I am going with that set up.