Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New to 3 gun, what class will my equipment put me in?

jmurch

I'm new to 3 gun, I've fired one rifle stage at my club's match last month and had a lot of fun. I plan to use what I have as much as possible at least for the first few matches.

Rifle: RRA 18" with a 20" site radius 1:8 iron sights.

Shotgun: Mossberg 935spx 7+1 rifle sights.

Pistol: Sig P220 4 mags (could use a holster recommendation).

TIA, Jeff

Limited

But you might need a couple more pistol mags depending on the stages. I don't feel comfortable unless I have 2x as many rounds in mags as I expect to need, especially if steel is involved and I am having an off day. If I only had 33 rounds on me I would feel naked.

Thanks all. 4 mags would only give me 24 rounds. I'll see if I can scare up a few more.

Anyone have holster recommendations? All I have now is an OWB holster for CCW.

Jeff

Your mags only hold 6? All the P220's I have seen had 8 rounders, 8x4= 32 plus a Barney bullet=33rds

Mine are actually 7s. If I order 10s will that change effect what division I can shoot?

Jeff

10's should be fine in limited assuming they work. A 7 shot mag that works is better than a 10 shot one that doesn't.

If shooting irons you will be in Tactical Irons for 3-gun.

You will need more then 24 pistol rounds... My magazines I use hold 24 rounds and I don't think I ever used just one magazine (ie 24 rounds) in a stage. I wouldn't go hog wild and start shelling out a bunch of money on magazine. You might want to look at getting a different pistol for the long term, something in a 9MM. It will save you money in the long term over shooting 45, may help you with a faster second shot, and increase your mag capacity. Something to think about down the road maybe.

For a holster I would suggest something like the Comp-Tac belt holster or the Blade-Tech DOH.

G34/35

+1

You're in Limited/Tac Iron with your current setup.