Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Better Gun for IDPA SSR: 3" 65 or 4"15

sprout

I've been shooting a 4 inch 66 for a while, but I recently picked up a 15 and a 65 on consignment. The 66 had a really bad trigger when I bought it, which got a lot better after an action job, but the pulls on the two new guns are much, much better.

On paper, the 15 would be the logical choice, with the adjustable sights and 4 inch barrel, but my only blue revolver is and old 17-1, and I'm worried about how hard it will be to clean the chambers and cylinder face (I use a lead-away cloth on the 66). The 65 is accurate, shoots POA, points just as well as the 15, and would be really easy to clean. However, I'm worried the little fixed sights will be a liability at long range.

I'm still pretty new at this, and any ideas would be great.

Thanks,

Dave

I have a 4 inch Ruger GP-100 with FO front sight and adjustable rear, and a 3 inch GP-100 with fixed sights (flourescent orange front) that I have zeroed for 158 loads. I have shot both extensively in IDPA and I score better with the 4 inch. The 3 inch is quicker, and works well if the COF is short targets (where you are more or less point shooting at a full target) but, there are times when NTs and hardcover make some tight shots, even at closer ranges, and the 3 inch lacks there. Nowdays the 3 inch is just a BUG or back up gun. I think you'll be happier with the M15 four inch and adjustable sights.

Chris Christian