Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

No primers in the primer seating cup.

I've been loading 9mm, for a couple of months on my 550, I love it.

I changed over to .45 today and everything went ok until I tried to prime a case. There was no primer in the primer seating cup.

I did put in the large primer magazine and I'm using the red large primer mag. orifice.

When I fill the large primer pickup tube and put the primers into the large primer magazine, the primers fall to the bottom.

When I take off the primer system and I can see a primer at the end of the primer magazine.

All parts are new. So I shouldn't need to clean them.

What am I missing? What do I need to do?

Thanks,

A.T.

I sometimes have something similar happen if I forget to raise the press all the way, which puts the cup immediately below the tube. The best I can figure is that sometimes a primer slips just far enough through the nipple to stop the cup from getting all the way back, but not far enough to drop.

Frustrating!

If you grab the back of the primer slide with your fingers and give it a little tug, can you get a primer?

If not-

On the manual page that shows the primer system (I am pretty sure it's page 4) there is a height listed for the primer slide/cup assembly. Measure yours and see if it's too tall. It a similar height to a 45ACP OAL, but I can't remember it right now.

I use a small smooth jawed vise to assemble mine, that spring is tough. If you don't get that pin that seats the primer in deep enough it will be too tall and hit that red cap, or it will tilt. This happened to me recently.

If so- tweak the rod that pushes the slide back.

If you removed the primer cup and punch to swap sizes, please don't. Unbolt the primer feed from the frame and exchange slide assemblies. Check the height of the cup & punch in the slide, specs are in the manual, but from the underside of the primer slide bar to the top of the cup should be 1.215"-1.220".