Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

3N38 vs 7625 38SC

alcornl

I am fairly new to open, been shooting it for about 6 months from limited. I did alot of research and ended up using 3N38. Loaded a bunch of loads and chrono'd and came up with 9.2 gr at 1.250 in a 38 SC with Federal SR primers behind MG 124 JHP. This load is right around 168 PF. Any load above 8.9 grs and the muzzle flip is very bad and recoil is harsh. I needed 9.4 to make 170PF and this is a brutal round. Everyone talked about how clean 3N38 was, but it leaves alot of unburnt powder and garbage in my mags and gun. Went through 2000 of these and then decided to tried a pound of 7625. Worked up a load and at 7.4 gr it makes 173PF and shoots remarkably softer than the 3N38 with much better muzzle flip and very little recoil. 7.9 gr makes 180PF and is still softer than VV, not to mention very clean. My gun is a wilson 38 super barrel and 3 port comp on a SVI frame.

Question is, has anyone had this discovery and if so, why does everyone like 3N38. It barely makes major and from what I can see burns so slow that instead of working the comp better, it is just throwing alot of flame and more muzzle flip than the faster burning powders. I know I will hear, everyone's gun and comp is different, but this is a considerable difference.

Edited by alcornl

Your experiences are way different than mine. 3N38 is REALLY clean. I di have to use 10.0 gr of powder behind a 124 MG JHP with WSP primer to get 170 pf. This is my wife's gun, and if you think that load is harsh... well there's not much I can do to help you out there.

If you like the 7625 run with it. It's certainly cheaper and probably easier to find. Don't let approval from a bunch of type A guys on the internet be the thing to get your boat sailing. Use what works for you, and we'll do the same.