Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Introduction and need some honest feedback...

makomachine

Hello all! New to the forum and a new handgun shooter as well. I've got quite a bit of time in with rifle and shotgun recreational shooting but had never really shot a handgun until recently. (I've owned a few - but have less than 100 rounds experience) With that said, I've decided to pick up the handgun and possibly do some competition shooting for fun. My initial interest was in 3 gun shooting, but frankly I'm just getting started in looking to see what's out there and the differences between them. I'm not looking to get a 'target gun' but wanted to compete in stock handgun/tactical type shooting.

Given this, I've recently purchased a new SA XDM 9mm based on how it felt in the hand and shot at the local range. The gun just 'felt' right to me and I shot it better than any of the other guns I've tried to date - G19, 92FS, M&P9, and Sig 226. I've never had any formal training but am signing up for a one-on-one shooting lesson as well as the Oklahoma Self Defense Act Safety Course at my local gun range. I've also ordered the following from Brian's site as a starting point:

Burkett's Vol. 1-3 DVDs - Practical Shooting

Practical Shooting, Beyond Fundamentals

Some Slide Glide for the new gun

I went to the range this weekend and put ~ 250 rounds through the new gun and below is the last 19 rounds shot of the day at 12 - 13 yards, slow fire from the XDM.

XDM%20122708.jpg

This was my best group but most of them were in this 'ballpark' after the first 100 rounds through the gun. Slightly high, right seemed to be a trend.