Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

My wife has started shooting

dcbfluff

My wife just shot her first club match this weekend, and had a great time! After a particularly scary gun experience when she was a child, she hadn’t touched a gun since. I keep guns in the house (I’ve been shooting for about 18 months) and several months ago she showed an interest in “becoming familiar” with firearms (no pressure from me, but she saw that I was having fun). A good friend/shooting buddy offered to teach her the basics, and she was hooked. After a few structured sessions with him, and some practices with me, she finally felt she was ready for a match (about three months after she fired her first shot). Although she was as nervous as I’ve ever seen her, she shot the first stage smoothly and safely, but when the crowd gave her cheers and applause at UASC, she almost broke the 180 turning to see what everyone was clapping about (the RO saved her). So now I’m loading bullets for two, she is enviously comparing other folk’s hardware to the used whooptee 1st generation Glock 17 I started her on, and apparently (according to one of our club’s other Lady Shooters) there are some “Shooting Fashion” issues that she needs to look into. I couldn’t be happier: big thanks to Pat and my other friends at the Wyoming Antelope Club for helping to get my favorite person involved in my favorite hobby. (BTW: I don’t recommend becoming your spouse’s primary instructor, even if you think you know what you are doing it’s better for them to learn from someone else, or as I heard once “If I start listening to him about shooting, he might think I will listen to him about other things” ).

Dan

TY 60299

Ooooh Pleeeease! Like doubling your toy budget is a bad thing! :roflol: Send her to ladies camp and you'll both have a hobby to love!