Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

"shooting" Matches That Are Really Athletic Tests

rhino

I realize that in action shooting sports athletic skills will always play a factor. I have no problem with that. But, it seems like some matches consistently present stages where it's more about the athletic elements, especially going prone and getting back up, kneeling, etc. than it is about shooting. :angry:

When I started shooting IDPA, I thought I would do better at it than USPSA because I assumed (mistakenly) that it would be more about basic shooting scenarios and less about running speed. Well, I was wrong! I do a lot worse at IDPA because almost all of the stages (at least locally) involve non-shooting elements that are difficult (and sometimes impossible) for me to do.

Even without practicing, my shooting skills are toward the top of the pack, yet my scores are always near the bottom. :angry:

Kneeling, going prone, squatting and movement are all basic elements of practical pistol shooting. Good course design incorportates alot of these movements to compliment the shooting. Bad course design focuses the course of fire on them instead of the shooting. That's why I left Cowboy Action Shooting because it became to gimicky for me. It is critical to practice all the different elements when praticing because more than not, were doing some other sort of movement along with shooting at any match. I dry fire and practice reloading from squatting, moving and kneeling, it becomes second nature sooner than you think.