Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Feeling Yourself Go Faster?

Jeeper

I have been practicing hard for about 4 months now. I shoot usually 2 matches a week, live fire twice additionally a week and dry fire daily. On paper my times have all really dropped and such(actually hit a 1.01 reload today). The thing is that I dont really feel that I am going that much faster than I did 4 months ago. It makes it kind of hard to guage improvement besides watching the clock. I really cant tell how fast I shot the stage or drill without looking at the clock. I can tell if it is really fast or really slow but beyond that I cant really "call the time". I guess my question is "Is this a bad thing?" Is this a common phenomenon seen when improving?

This sounds, normal to me.

The feeling of speed, comes from the brain not being able to interpret the data that is being input. Once the brain gets used to the data being input at that speed it doesn't feel fast anymore. Anyways that is my theory. Thus the more you practice the, faster you see, the faster you see the slower it feels and the faster you go.

The more proficient you become the slower thing seem to happen, you find that; yes there’s time to acquire a sight picture, yes there’s time to call your shot.

The timer “tells the tale” and ultimately your score at the match.

I don’t practice without a timer. Period.

Ed

Ed,

you might try it sometime, it can be fun, just shooting to shoot. I have been shooting everyday for the last 2 weeks and last night I just went this place where people dump their trash and just walked around shooting bottles and cans and trash and it was great fun. I had some small goals, but it was sure was fun, and I even took my timer off my belt :ph34r:

Jeeper,