Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

2008 NATIONALS - Palm Handheld Scoring

Chris Keen

Just wondering what your thoughts are on Palm Scoring for this years NATIONALS. I was recently perusing the Nationals web-page over at USPSA.org and noticed that they intend to use it in Tulsa this year, in conjunction with a leader-board similar to how they show the leaders in golf. The idea is to have more frequent updates, and display the results on monitors in / around the vendors tent.

I have no personal experience with palm scoring ... I've never seen it, nor have I been to a match that used it. Just curious. :)

• How accurate is it ?
  • Will this system use barcodes on score-sheets ?
  • What about scoring discrepencies ? How easy will they be to catch, and fix ?

The Area 7 used it and it seemed great. You get a paper backup and they kept one also incase there is a problem. They score you with the palm, then read off the palm and mark a paper which you sign. It goes very fast and smooth.

There are a few good thread on Palm scoring. They are a good read and probably cover much of your questions.

There is no need for bar code...nor score sheets, for that matter. The scores go right into the Palm unit on each stage, then they are electronically transferred to a Master palm (think of this like picking up score sheets on each stage). Then, from the Master, they transfer right into the match computer.

Easy data collect and data input.

The shooter will likely get a "paper copy" of their score sheet for their records.

* How accurate is it ?

Very

* Will this system use barcodes on score-sheets ?

No. There won't even be scoresheets.

* What about scoring discrepencies ? How easy will they be to catch, and fix ?