Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

The Theory of the Dumb Ass Gene

Forensics Doc

First, a disclaimer: I am not a geneticist by profession; I have no training in Mendelian genetics nor do I work with DNA except to send it off to the FBI for analysis. Still, some of the greatest advances in science were initially developed by those who had no training in that particular field but who, simply by gathering empirical evidence, formulated theories that were later proven correct using the scientific method. The following theory is mine and mine alone and I am confident that in time it will be proven correct.

The Human Genome Project is now complete, having taken 13 years to map 20,000-25,000 sets of genes in human DNA as well as the sequences of about 3 billion chemical base pairs that make up human DNA. Still, I am convinced that one gene was missed. I think it is only fitting that this gene is called the Dumb Ass Gene.

You see, working in a morgue is interesting work, and just about the time you think you've seen it all you realize you're not even close. Take for example the gangbanger who, wanting to impress his 'ho du jour, chambered a round, dropped the magazine, and then pulled the trigger, not quite remembering that it was his LAST gun that had the magazine disconnect, not this one. Or Bubba who, in an alcohol-fueled afternoon of fun, swings out over the water on a rope and lets go, not quite remembering that the South is in the midst of a severe drought and that the old swimming hole that used to be ten feet deep is now about 18 inches in depth. Or the two guys who made a bet that a bulletproof vest would stop a knife. So one of them put it on and the other one stabbed him in the chest to see if it was so. There's a reason the label doesn't say "Knifeproof." The list goes on and on and on.

As a result of seeing incredible acts of stupidity that subsequently resulted in death, I have formulated the Theory of the Dumb Ass Gene. It goes something like this: