Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Smaller Gripped LTD/Open Frames

Mark K

I am a newbie, but decided to post here to ask experienced open and Limited shooters:

I am lucky enough to have a USPSA shooting friend with has a decent sized pistol collection, and he has been letting me shoot several of his Limited guns, so that I can get a feel for other guns, so that when I decide to get my own limited or open gun, I will have a better idea what I want for features, etc, and probably have one built. Thus far, I have only shot 1911/2011 based guns. I currently own and shoot a Para Ord 18.9 LDA LTD that I like for production class.

As I move down this path, one of my issues is that I have somewhat smaller hands, and when I get a good grip on a 2011 based pistol in line with my forearm, and thumb on the safety, I have a problem with getting my trigger finger properly on the trigger w/o it laying along the side of the frame. If I get the trigger finger in a good position, the pistol is off-line of my forearm. This was the case even with my friend's SVI that was pretty slimmed down.

While this does not necessarily preclude a 2011 based gun for me in my future, I am asking what guns have smaller frames/grips that are regularly built in to good Limited/Open guns? EAA/CZ? Others?

Thanks All

Mark

Edited by Mark K