Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Looking For A Few Good Ro's....

BDH

Since we have lots of very qualified range staff hanging around here, I thought I would let you know that USPSA is looking for a few good RO's to help us put on the FGN/3 Gun, and Race Gun Nats this year. Evidently there are still some staff openings, so if you like making the calls here in the BE forum, you now have a chance to join us on the range!!

Staff apps are on the USPSA website, and are due into Sedro by April 15th. I hope to see you there.....

VP/Shooter Grrl - I realize this is not a rules question, so move this if necessary.

Since i'm rather new to this, I'm going to go ahead and ask what might be a silly question (kinda like making a two bid in euchre)...

does one have to be a certified RO or have taken the class(es) to do this? if not, i'd be interested.

I would be very surprised to find out that our members would want uncertified staff to RO at Nationals or for that matter, at Area matches, who were not a certified RO/CRO/RM. I also believe that Point Series matches should have certified staff. At area 3 last year, Arnie Christianson, the area 3 director, made an unpopular decision to not use any staff that was not currently certified. He lost about 1/3 of his staff, but others stepped up. I think this is an excellent decision, as area matches are a prelude to the Nationals and to the next World Shoot. Our organization has some of the best range staff to be found. It is to bad that more people do not want to step up to the plate and make a difference at all of our matches. A job well done on the range can be more than just shooting a good match.

First, I could care less about certification. I want RO's that are knowledgable, FRIENDLY and have some logic and common sense. And yes, I feel that ALL of those are greatly lacking in a lot of "official" RO's. Too many times, still, we're getting RO's that feel their sole duty is to screw the shooter.