Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New limited gun/first post, how'd I do?

stopsign94

Hey guys, I've been browsing this forum for quite a while now, and just decided to register. I've been shooting Limited for about 6 months now with a glock 35 with the usual mods(trigger work,magwell,sights,barrel) and doing quite well with it. I was browsing the local blaster shop and found a very nice used SVI/caspian for sale on consignment. It used to belong to a shooter in my club, and was built by a very well known local gunsmith. Me being the impulsive fool I am, I bought it...

It is an SVI frame and grip, with an STI magwell, a caspian slide w/ a caspian F/O front(.08) and Caspian ghost ring rear, Scheumann(spelling) bull barrel, an aftec extractor, and a hammer/sear of unknown manufacture. Has a VERY nice light trigger pull, and shoots very nice(got to put 100 rounds through it really quick today at lunch). I have a couple pictures of it that i'll throw up here if possible. It came with what i was told were 2 STI mags and 2 SVI mags and a soft case. How'd I do for 1350? I think with the mags and knowing the entire history of the gun(was told very low round count, but is a couple years old) I did allright. Here's a pic, could only fit 1.

Any advice for a guy new to 2011/1911 platform besides tons of dryfire practice? Thanks a lot!!

Pic_1.bmp

Looks like a pretty good deal to me.

I wouldn't go changing much yet, but you may want to recontour the grip and either have it textured or stippled. It makes them feel a LOT better and easier to shoot. It's pretty easy to do if you're handy with tools and there are a bunch of threads here on how to do it. The other thing to consider is to start putting a kit of spare parts together (springs, extractor, guide rod, etc).

Welcome to the Forum....and now isn't that better than a plastic gun, even if it might have required financing.... :rolleyes:

Um...isn't it still plastic ? :rolleyes:

(You and I might have to shoot for pinks.)