Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Is The Division Name 'single-stack' Misleading?

mcb

I have been shooting USPSA for about two years now. So I was around for the inception of the Single Stack division. Now being new to USPSA, handguns (long time hunter and rifle shooter) and not know USPSA's historical attachment to 1911's I have to say that when I first read the rules for the division I was sorely disappointed. I was hoping/expecting it to be a division for all single stack handguns not a division exclusively for 1911 patterned Single Stack handguns. As I am sure all of you know there are a lot of other Single Stack guns out there and so it would seem more appropriate for the present provisional Single Stack division to have been named the 1911 division or some similar name that indicates that its a division for 1911's not a division for single stacks in general.

Probably a non-issue but the name does not make complete sense to someone that does not know some of the history or IPSC and USPSA.

Rambling

mcb

Edited by mcb

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I have been shooting USPSA for about two years now. So I was around for the inception of the Single Stack division. Now being new to USPSA, handguns (long time hunter and rifle shooter) and not know USPSA's historical attachment to 1911's I have to say that when I first read the rules for the division I was sorely disappointed. I was hoping/expecting it to be a division for all single stack handguns not a division exclusively for 1911 patterned Single Stack handguns. As I am sure all of you know there are a lot of other Single Stack guns out there and so it would seem more appropriate for the present provisional Single Stack division to have been named the 1911 division or some similar name that indicates that its a division for 1911's not a division for single stacks in general.