Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

recoil spring weight

Scooter

I have been running a 10# spring in my 40 SV Limited gun for 3 years. I never told anyone because I thought they would say I was CRAZY. I knew it, everyone one else is crazy,it's not me,yeah that's it.:o

Scooter, I have been shooting an 11lb spring in my STI Edge 40 for 4 years. When I took Todd's class in 97', I was shooting a 14-16lb spring and Todd told us he was shooting an 11lb spring. He also recommended we try it. He told us that the heavier springs made the guns look and feel like they were flipping more than the lighter springs because the extra flip was from the extra force of the gun coming back into battery, not the slide coming back with extra muzzle flip. I tried the 11lb spring and have never looked back (just made Limited Master class with a 100% classifier, finally). I guess Todd has changed to an even ligher spring.

When I tried the 10lb spring over the 11lb, the gun felt like it wasn't returning to the same place and it was returning a little "high", if you know what I mean. The front sight looked like it wasn't returning and staying a little higher than the rear notch and sight where the 11lb spring seemed to return almost right to the rear sight everytime, even on rapid fire. It sounds funny, but you have to experience it to see what I mean. That is kind of hard to describe, but Brian, does that make any sense?

Kevin

Brian,

I forgot to ask, do you (ideally) want to short cycle the slide? I remember what you said about the recoil and having less mass coming back and forward on the top end (in the slide) and a heavier bottom taming recoil better. Again, short cycling the slide might cause less mass recoiling back and forward and help, I think. Thanx

Kevin  (sorry to keep you so busy, but this is a dreamshot. I mean as "Good As It Gets". How many times do you get to ask the Master, One of the IPSC forefathers how he works it.

kevin,