Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Which One Is A Better Open Gun?

sps

I know that a similar version of this question has probably been asked (and answered) on this forum in the past, but since I'm totally new to open division (I'm a standard division shooter) and thinking to go open next year, i thought that this would be the best place to ask around.

i had a look on the STI TruBor and the SPS open (not the hybrid model) and it looks that both are very good pistols as they come from the factory.There are, however, several differences that I'm not sure how much they are important, such as a different compensator/barrel fit and compensator design.

the STI with a chrome finish is $3,000 while the SPS (chrome) is $2,050. is there any catch that I'm missing?

what makes the STI a nearly $1,000 more expensive? is it worth it? and what is the real difference between the TruBore and the GrandMaster?

i know that i have many questions but i guess that an open shooter how were considering moving to standard would have the same.

your views are appreciated.

At the risk of really irritating you, since I see your username is SPS, STI is a better pistol. It is well worth the extra money. Quality of materials and workmanship, not to mention customer service are what makes STI superior to SPS. If you live in Europe, SPS may be a superior product due to its locality in Spain. When it comes down to quality and standing behind the company's product, Dave and Pauletta Skinner along with the folks who work with them make STI superior.

Between Wakal and I, we own more than 8 STI's. We wouldn't trade them.

It's my opinion, take it for what you think it's worth.

Cheers,

Liota

I heard that SPS is a copyright infringement on STI, they coppied it illegally that's why you can't get one in the USA.

SPS a Cheap knock-off? I don't know I've never see one but the STI's I have owned and shot are high quality first class guns.