Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Love To Hear Your Thoughts.. OAL Creep Up

Good Morning,

Well I have been using my 550b for about 3 months now and I have made some obsevations and would like to hear your thoughts.

When I start a reloading session as I am still in the load devolpement stage I pick my bullet and charge and after I get my charge correct I move on to the bullett OAL. Now I raise the seater as to not overseating the bullett and continue to lower the die until I get my desired OAL. Once this is complete I'm ready to start reloading. Now the problem, it seems that after a few round have been loaded the OAL starts to creep up from lets say 1.244 to 1.250 then I have to adjust the OAL again which doesn't make any sence to me why this happens. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks Mike

Quick question .. what crimp die are you using? I use a Lee FCD and it makes the rounds longer by .005 to .010 depending on the brass. I think the extra squeezing just makes the round longer. I have to take that extra length into account when I set my sitting die.

Other than the obvious (a loose lockring on your seating die?), are you adjusting the dies with a case in every station?

These machines are built like a tank but many have found that the press operates differently with a case in every station. If you adjusted with just one case in the machine, and then when in full production saw the need for a .006" adjustment, no worries. Reset the depth with a full load of cases in the shell plate, lock it down, and check every now and then.

I agree w/ ima45dv8, although it's also possible that you are changing the AOL by changing the amount of pressure on the handle as you hit the downstroke. If you pulled down the handle one way when making your initial adjustments, and use another way when you are in "production mode", you will alter the AOL by a few thousandths easily.