Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Load clean in pistols, dirty in PCC

RMR 124g FMJ

4.2g Sport Pistol

Federal primers in Mixed range brass

OAL 1.110”

Same go to load I’ve been running in my CZs for a few years now, accurate, good feel, and clean.  Got a Springfield Saint 9mm PCC, set up with a different comp, Kynshot buffer, JP trigger springs and a little polish work.  Runs 100%, accurate, and reasonable recoil impulse for the investment.  Only odd thing I notice is my cases are sooty and the gun runs generally dirtier than my pistols.  Ejection is fine and the gun locks back consistently.  Only thing I can think of is with the relatively fast powder the pressure drops in the long barrel enough to break the case seal to the chamber.  Thoughts? 

5 minutes ago, GMP said:

RMR 124g FMJ

4.2g Sport Pistol

Federal primers in Mixed range brass

OAL 1.110”

Same go to load I’ve been running in my CZs for a few years now, accurate, good feel, and clean.  Got a Springfield Saint 9mm PCC, set up with a different comp, Kynshot buffer, JP trigger springs and a little polish work.  Runs 100%, accurate, and reasonable recoil impulse for the investment.  Only odd thing I notice is my cases are sooty and the gun runs generally dirtier than my pistols.  Ejection is fine and the gun locks back consistently.  Only thing I can think of is with the relatively fast powder the pressure drops in the long barrel enough to break the case seal to the chamber.  Thoughts? 

What's the PF from PCC?

A blowback PCC will always have sooty(er) cases than guns with a lockup system like most pistols.

In a blowback gun nothing keeps the bolt from moving apart from weight of the bolt, buffer and spring, as soon as you fire  it starts moving.

If you really want cleaner cases you could try a heavier buffer. (assuming it's and AR-like gun)