Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Dillon 750 Inconsitant Bullet Seating Depths

Before I started shooting a PPQ SF and was shooting a P320 bullet, OAL wasn't much of an issue it ate anything. I had an issue at a match yesterday where the RNDS were jaming in the

mag. I went to a practice bay and noticed the RNDS were getting stuck on the ramp and in some cases were getting stuck in the mag. I am running Xtreme 135 RNFP 3.5g N320 at 1.150.

They appeared to be to long.

I checked 10 RNDS and there was a spread of .009. I am using a Hornady seating die with a micrometer (using it because of the ease of using different bullets). I stooped using the Dillon seater because its a PIA to set. The nice thing about the Dillon die is the the flip seating stem for different profile bullets. So I figure it could be several things giving the inconstancy.

Seating Stem , inconstant shell plate machining, loose shell plate (I have it tight), inconstant bullet profiles.

Or maybe me not going through the full stroke.

I am leaning towards the inconstant bullet profiles.

Looking for some other possible issues.

Id be surprised if they chamber at that length even if you got them out of the mags.  Walthers are known for having fairly short chambers.  Reduce your OAL down to at least 1.130 and you will probably fix the issues.
I dont have a very high opinion of Xtreme bullets,  but be easy to measure a handful.
Another issue,, we are dealing with a progressive press here, tool head gonna move a hair, shellplate a hair,  brass rim and groove varies a hair,, add all that up and .009 is pretty trivial.  Go at least ,020 shorter than your chamber.

19 hours ago, ekraus said:

Before I started shooting a PPQ SF and was shooting a P320 bullet, OAL wasn't much of an issue it ate anything. I had an issue at a match yesterday where the RNDS were jaming in the