Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Shadow 2 extended safety in C/O.

ColoradoNick

Long story short I traded guns with my wife and her Shadow 2 is now mine. She wanted the extended safety, mostly because she didn't like dropping the hammer on it. I'm not as much of a fan as it changes the grip I'm used to a little bit. Do I go back to stock or get used to the extension even though I don't see ever really using it. Go easy, I'm brand new to USPSA lol. Shooting my first match in March after a safety class next month. Trying to get things dialed in though. 

Edited by ColoradoNick

22 minutes ago, ColoradoNick said:

Long story short I traded guns with my wife and her Shadow 2 is now mine. She wanted the extended safety, mostly because she didn't like dropping the hammer on it. I'm not as much of a fan as it changes the grip I'm used to a little bit. Do I go back to stock or get used to the extension even though I don't see ever really using it. Go easy, I'm brand new to USPSA lol. Shooting my first match in March after a safety class next month. Trying to get things dialed in though. 

If the wider safety changes your grip for the worse then get rid of it.  There's zero reason to try to get used to it when there's an easier path.

Personally I absolutely can't stand wide safeties.  I have never had nor will I ever own a pistol that needs a manual safety to be carried so I have no reason to get used to one.

My first S2 had the extended safety on the left side as I shoot with my shooting hand thumb riding the safety. On my second S2 it only came with the flat thumb safety so I tried it that way. During practice the slide would partially lock open for no apparent reason. After a few times I saw the thumb safety was partially engaged and I must have been pushing up on the thumb safety during recoil. A good friend gave me his extended thumb safety and I haven’t had any issues with the slide locking partially back. So I would use the extended thumb safety.