Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Split cases

JayDee

I’ve been reloading 40 for 6 years and have been through about 8k rounds per year. I case gauge all my reloads. I just got a stack of primers and loaded up some major and minor 40. I found a number of split cases during QC and case gauging. 

Most didn’t case gauge and were easy to spot. But during QC I found a few that passed the case gauge. 

question: have any of you ever shot a round with a split case (case with a crack/material failure)? If so, what happened? 

I don’t think I missed any, but it made me wonder about the outcome of missing a split case. 

Thanks in advance for sharing your experience or thoughts on the matter. 

3 hours ago, JayDee said:

I’ve been reloading 40 for 6 years and have been through about 8k rounds per year. I case gauge all my reloads. I just got a stack of primers and loaded up some major and minor 40. I found a number of split cases during QC and case gauging. 

Most didn’t case gauge and were easy to spot. But during QC I found a few that passed the case gauge. 

question: have any of you ever shot a round with a split case (case with a crack/material failure)? If so, what happened? 

I don’t think I missed any, but it made me wonder about the outcome of missing a split case. 

Thanks in advance for sharing your experience or thoughts on the matter.