Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Mark 7 EVO Rifle Powder drop not metering consistently

mpmo

Brand new powder drop.  Trying to get it to meter 27.5gn of CFE223.  I'm OK with +/- .1 or even .2.  But I'm at 27.5 for a while and then go to check and I'm at 27.9 or 27.3.  Any thoughts?

Press is new to me, as is rifle reloading.  I've got a lot of experience loading pistol on a LNL.  Die is previous station is a Lyman expanding.  Using new Starline .223 brass.

Consistent vibrations, full strokes top and bottom. Powder shook down and settled in the hopper before you start? Everything tight and adjusted for proper stroke without another die stopping the process short when running full? Static build up? Also make sure Mars is aligned with Saturn otherwise the moon pulls on the powder wrong. 😁 Ok you can probably skip the last one…..but there’s days I wonder. 

Edited by Farmer

So I can get it to be consistent +/- 0.1 for about the first 30 loads.  Then it jumps about .3-.5. I have the nut on the plunger assembly tightened with a wrench.  Any ideas?

After the 30 loads it increases .3/.5.   If you adjust it to be correct at that time will it stay or does it change again?

Are you maintaining a constant volume in the powder measure? (Not less than 1/4. Not more than 3/4) 

How smooth is the press operation? 

3 hours ago, AHI said:

After the 30 loads it increases .3/.5.   If you adjust it to be correct at that time will it stay or does it change again?

Are you maintaining a constant volume in the powder measure? (Not less than 1/4. Not more than 3/4) 

How smooth is the press operation? 

I think I might have it down.  I adjusted to 27.3, let it climb to 27.5 after 30 or so rounds.  So far after 100 rds, it has stayed.  I am cranking down on the plunger assembly lock screw pretty good. 

I did take my measure apart and wipe down with a dryer sheet and re-installed it on the press according to the instructions.  Those things could have helped.