Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

New to reloading feeding issues. 40S&W open glock

Angelr15

I have built a new toy glock for shooting open division uspsa out of a glock 22. Gun has shot well with factory ammo but I just switched out to a large 4 port Carver custom compensator so I started loading appropriate ammo for the compensator. I just loaded up my first batch of 40 s&w ammo. I am new to reloading pistol ammo but have reloaded for my rifles for several years.

I loaded mixed brass with the following load

All brass measured, cleaned, lubed, sized/deprimed, swaged, cleaned, primed, belled, charged, seated/lightcrimped. Check cycling them in the gun and had no setback.

Federal small pistol magnum primer

8.5 grains of Hodgdon HS6

Berrys bullets 155 grain fp

Loaded to 1.125

I had no pressure signs and the load shot well through my gun but it had about 30 failure to feeds out of 100 rounds this morning. 

Not sure where to start for resolving the issue. Longer OAL maybe? Gun has recommended 15lb recoil spring from Carver custom but issues happens both why shooting and manually cycling.

Here are a few pictures of the issue and the round once cleared as well as the barrel feed ramp. Any help is appreciated !

20190715_091803_zpswazebzuq.jpg

20190715_091639_zpsvgyk1bju.jpg

20190715_091620_zpsyc3vlq77.jpg

20190715_101354_zps7h3wdwvk.jpg

IMG_20190712_085326_598_zpswqcfirb7.jpg

Edited by Angelr15

I have not chronograph the round yet. The load is close to the book max load and should easily make power factor. 

Book has this load making 175PF so even if it comes in low it should still be over 165...

Also this happens when manually cycling the slide or sending it home with the slide release as well so it isnt charge related.

20 minutes ago, costeel said:

Have you tried polishing the breach face and the barrel hood?

"polishing the breach face" sounds like an euphemism for something best done in private...