Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Trouble finding my grip

nso123

I am struggling some with finding my  grip out of the holster for the first shot. I feel like my left hand (right handed shooter) is wandering around the grip at times. Once I find it I am good, but I had an entire stage today where I didn't get a good grip out of the holster and know I dropped some time due to it.  I am fairly new to shooting Steel Challenge, so I am curious if there are any specific drills that might help beyond simply drawing to a target during dry fire, or is this something that will develop to muscle memory with more practice?

Edited by nso123

I have the same problem from time to time. When i´m cold or just stiff because of nervousness, it´s strange how i can mess up a simple movement that i did a thousand times.

It drives me crazy.

I think it´s important to have index points, a point where you rest your shooting hand, a point where you rest your support hand, a point where you move your support hand to, a point where you hit the gun. Holster position is critical, stance too. Even which angle you hold your Hands. That all should be as exactly the same as possible.  

2 hours ago, Hawk21 said:

Watch some mike seeklander videos on the “Judi chop” he breaks down the draw and grip in amazing detail 

I just watched his video and it completely answered my question as to what I was doing wrong. Thanks for the suggestion.

12 hours ago, nso123 said:

I just watched his video and it completely answered my question as to what I was doing wrong. Thanks for the suggestion.

Now put what you saw in the video together with your comment regarding dry fire, slow at first to begin building muscle memory then add speed...repeat until you aren't thinking about each particular step and you'll be well on your way to your first target after the BEEP!

3 minutes ago, Bench said: