Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Trimming 223 Brass, index off of neck vs OAL

Terry44

For trimming 223 brass, is there any advantage or disadvantage to trimming brass with a trimmer that indexes off the neck like the Frankford Arsenal case prep over a

lathe style like the Hornady  cam lock trimmer that trims based on overall all length?

I'm new to reloading for the rifle and I'm looking at the Frankford Arsenal for case prep.  But it is a little different than most in that it indexes off the neck.  Is that something

that I need to stay away from?  

Edited by Terry44

I use the WFT that indexes off the case shoulder for trimming.

The ejector and firing pin pushes the case forward until the case shoulder contacts the chambers shoulder. Meaning the case mouth will be at the same point in the chamber when indexing off the case shoulder. When trimming and indexing off the base of the case the case mouth location in the chamber will vary depending on shoulder location.

This is very obvious when neck turning your cases and indexing off the case shoulder when trimming. Meaning when neck turning the cutter stops at the same exact point at the neck shoulder junction.

Edited by bigedp51

29 minutes ago, bigedp51 said:

The ejector and firing pin pushes the case forward until the case shoulder contacts the chambers shoulder. Meaning the case mouth will be at the same point in the chamber when indexing off the case shoulder. When trimming and indexing off the base of the case the case mouth location in the chamber will vary depending on shoulder location.

This is what I was thinking but I don't have the experience to know if that was correct or if I was missing something.