Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Mount issues with STI Matchmaster and RTS2 . Help Please

Bamaboy

I have a Matchmaster that blows carbon gas on the top edge of the lens of my rts2.  I have run a Limcat mount and currently have a Cheely Customs.  Neither seems to have a high enough blast shield for the shorty.  

Can Yall give some recommendations?  I'm about ready to sell this Cheely mount and buy another.  HELP

5 hours ago, Janskis said:

This is what I am using. I get some gasses on the glass but it's not too bad. Feels like it stays clearer than the original slideride with the STI mount.

Not a bad little setup there. My hope is to completely keep the gas off the glass though. 

33 minutes ago, Kema said:

I have cheely and rts2 at matchmaster and no issues with carbon, I use VV 3n38, so maybe it's running cleaner. Use slideglige or similar grease at barrel to minimize oil spray.

Do you mind sharing your load data. I'm about out of CFE Pistol and looking for something cleaner. And what pf do you hit and how's the barrel rise

3 minutes ago, Kema said:

8.6-8.7 grains to get major pf with 124gr bullet. My gun has seen some shots thought. 

Cool. Why 3n83 and not n320. I hear so much about n320 but have never used VV powders before. Help would be greatly appreciated 

5 minutes ago, Aircooled6racer said:

Hello: Try some HS-6, Silhouette, or Auto Comp. Those are my favorite 9mm open powders. Thanks, Eric

I've run auto comp and it seems just as dirty as CFE.  I think I have done some hs6 also.  I need clean. Like eat of the floor clean. This dot is driving me crazy. Never used silhouette though. Can y'all give me some feedback on that

Edited by Bamaboy

What is clean the lens when it gets dirty? I run SV mount with three 10degree rear holes and no blast shield. Clean it every three stage or when I can’t see the dot after a bad run in practice. 

16 hours ago, Bamaboy said: