Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Case Trimming

docpyzon

Hello all....New to the forum and just got bit by the USPSA shooting bug. I've pretty much decided on what pistol, caliber, division and all that I'm going to start with and have become a new member of the USPSA. It didn't take me long to realize that I might as well purchase a reloader (Dillon 550) if I'm jumping in with both feet and I have a couple of questions for you folks that have been in it for awhile.

I'm going with a XD Tactical in 9mm production division and my first question is where should I start as far as powder type, bullet weight, bullet type(FMJ, JHP etc).

My other question has to do with trimming the brass after it has been loaded a few times. I have been loading varmint loads for my 22-250 for several years out of my Rock Chucker and always checked and trimmed my brass for length and used the deburring tool to clean them up. Is case trimming required for pistol brass too. I've never loaded a pistol load and I can't seem to find anywhere that it says it's required to trim them.

Also do you just use large or small rifle primers for handgun loads or do they make pistol primers just for this.

Thanks for any help and I'm sure this will not be my last set of questions as I get deeper into this USPSA deal....Dan Bell

No. Trimming straight wall pistol cases is not required as they do not grow after re-sizing like bottle neck rifle cases do. Differnt' animal altogether.

Good choice on the XD in niner. You will get good case life if you bother to pick them up. At 15-20 bucks a k for 1x 9mm cases you are in phat city there.

--

Regards,

Straight wall pistol cases actually *shorten* over time. That's right, they get shorter, not longer. Trimming pistol cases is absolutely unneccessary.

Please spend your extra time reading Brian's book and shooting. :)

My 3 calipers must be lying to me <_<

I've yet to see my .38 Super cases shrink, and this is with minor PF loads.