Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Dry Fire/ Live Fire ratio?

wrx04

I’m new to USPSA.  I’ve read Brian’s book, and have Stoeger’s and Anderson’s books on dry fire. I have a setup in my basement to practice, and the local group shoots twice a week.  What is considered a good ratio of dry to live fire?

From the reading I’ve done, it seems like dry fire is possibly more important than live fire.  Do you agree with this?  I’m contemplating buying a Dillon 1050, but maybe I don’t need it.  Seems like the number of rounds down range isn’t as important as I originally thought.  I load on a 550now, and perhaps a 650 will be plenty.

Let me know your thoughts on this.  Thanks 

IMO it depends.  Although I have been shooting for over 30 years, I have only been shooting pistols for two years. I’ve been competing in USPSA for 1.5 years.  In  The beginning, I would have been better served to live fire more. I  usually made it to the range one time per week. I was dry firing 4 to 5 times per day at that time. What I didn’t realize then was I was often cheating in dry fire.  IMO live fire is how you verify that your techniques in dry fire will actually work for YOU.  I often found that my dry fire techique did not work on your live fire conditions in the beginning. As I have become more experienced, I have found that live fire isn’t quite as necessary…  now, I often go every 1 to 2 weeks for live fire. This is mainly because I understand my capabilities and don’t cheat as much during dry fire. 

In my opinion if you can afford a 1050 then you should get it. If you start competing in a lot of matches, you’re find you can burn through ammo really quick even if you are only live firing 1 time per week.

30 minutes ago, B585 said:

live fire is how you verify  your techniques in dry fire  work for YOU. 

I  go every 1 to 2 weeks for live fire because I understand my capabilities and don’t cheat as much during dry fire. 

WOW !!!    :bow:

That sums it up in a nutshell.