Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Clay's For .40

high ground

I bought some Clay's (regular) for my Glock 35. The only reloading manual in the store was the Sierra manual. It had max load at 5.0 gr @ 1000fps. So I thought I was good to go. The Hodgdon manual I have home lists a max load of 3.5 gr at less than 900 fps. I want to be able to make major pf, but don't know if it's safe to go that high. Any one here use Clay's at about 4.5 gr to get about 950 fps? Should I just use the Clay's for minor and get Universal Clay's for major? I wanted a cleaner powder than the Tightgroup I was using. I didn't see Clay's listed in the Maas load list.

I have been loading clays in my 40 S V for over 12 years.( Old major and the new major). I use 200 gr zero fmj bullets. Works great . Very clean burning . Accurate. NO WAY try to load major with clays in a glock.

straight Clays information for .40 IS on the Jeff Maass website: it under the section: "WARNING!!! DO NOT USE CLAYS FOR MAJOR .40!!!!!!!!!!!"

Now, I know that the warning re=printed below reference OLD major and that some loads that are TOO LONG for a glock are now, once again being used at the present time since the reduction to 165. And for Minor - Clays is great.

But Major .40 in short Glock ammo?!?!? My sincere advice to you is: Don't even think about it. Here is the warning from Jeff Maass' website:

"SPECIAL .40 S&W LOADING SAFETY NOTES:

Since I began gathering data for the .40S&W, I have heard numerous stories of people having guns blow up due to inappropriate loads or failure to heed

good load development practice. Interestingly, more people have reported catastrophic failures to me in this caliber than in the “pocket-rocket” 9x21! All

IPSC loads in the .40S&W are high-pressure loads, and generally all of the loads listed below are at or near to maximum pressures: this is not

your momma’s .45ACP! I don’t recommend that an inexperienced reloader attempt to load .40S&W for IPSC Major.

Powder Choices