Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

100 Yd + Rifle Exercises/drills

Let's get some ideas going on medium/long range rifle drills. I ended up with a miss on a 100 yd rifle target, and poor hits on the others I did hit on Saturday and it's got me torqued. I'm very new to the 3-gun game (read: nearly clueless, esp. with the rifle) so I'm all ears.

That's a tough one. I practice with some friends of mine and I bet we shoot 100+ yard rifle less than anything.

It takes a lot of time to get to the targets and get them taped.

But the way we usually do it is to shoot at some IPSC targets while someone spots to let us know where we are hitting. And we usually have some steel out too to shoot at after the paper.

Then we walk down tape up the targets, pick up the steel, and repeat.

Relax and work on the fundamentals. Set up several targets and shoot some groups from the prone. then from sitting. then from the bench. Shooting groups is an essential drill as it will teach you accuracy. Plus you will build a good zero.

Once you can shoot good groups and build an accurate shot, then you can run around with your hair on fire doing faster stuff.

THE SINGLE BIGGEST FAILING OF 3GUNNERS IS THE INABILITY TO SHOOT THEIR RIFLES ACCURATELY.

Kelly is right on the money. For shooting with any accuracy at any real distance, learn to get into good positions that allow you to shoot precisely and practice getting into a lot of different good positions efficiently. Learn to make a bad position good too! After you can adopt/find a good position on the fly, then practice shooting from bad positions, or the positions that you can''t seem to shoot accurately from. Good positions provide support for the front and rear of the rifle and can be anything that works.