Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Ammunition Choices

Tsparger

So I'm just getting into shooting competition and have been looking into economical choices for ammo to practice and shoot the comps with. I'm shooting a M&P Pro 9 and have just been buying boxes of 115 gr fmj at LGS's since that's all I can find. But I've been reading that a lot of folks will order their ammo from places like Atlanta Arms and that they prefer the 124 gr and even 147 gr because they are softer shooting. How is a bullet of higher weight softer shooting? Also, unless you buy their ammo by the case it seems to be less expensive at the LGS's so why buy from an online supplier? Last question is I have seen people shooting hollow points and am wondering why they would do that over a plain round nose bullet? Thanks for any input you can offer up.

Edited by Tsparger

For a given power factor, the heavier slower bullet will have less FELT recoil even though ol' Isaac says it is mathematically the same.

I have seen all sorts of theories on it but some of them are getting into Davis Mechanics which is way over my head.

Since I am a handloader, I can tailor my ammo. I am at present loading a 125 gr BBI coated TC bullet to 1058 fps. I think a 147 at 900 is a bit milder but the 125 is good enough and the conical feeds better than the usual 147 flatpoint.

Some people use hollowpoints because they average somewhat more accurate. The smooth flat square base and rearward center of gravity make a difference. Not enough difference for me to pay extra at IDPA ranges and targets.

1. lot of folks prefer the 124 gr and 147 gr because they are softer shooting. How a bullet of higher weight softer shooting?

2. unless you buy their ammo by the case it seems to be less expensive and the LGS's so why by from an online supplier?

3. hollow points (advantage over ) a plain round nose bullet?

1. At the same PF, the heavier bullet is moving slower, and uses less powder - less powder equals softer ...