Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

230g Lubricated LRN and Clay's

TDA

I'm trying to use up some .452" 230g lubricated LRN's and am picking up what seems like quite a bit of barrel leading shooting them in a P220 Sig with 3.5g of Clay's at 1.2" OAL. (Clay's shows 3.5 as Min and 4.0 as Max for 230g LRN) By quite a bit, I shot fifteen rounds and the first 3/8" of the rifled area is coated in lead.

I'm new to this reloading stuff, but I loaded up ten of the lubed LRN's, ten of Berry's 230g plated, and ten 230g jacketed rounds, all using 3.5g of Clay's in my 1911 and the lubricated lead have quite a bit more felt recoil than the others. Would this be normal?

I was hoping to use these in my P220 to cut down a bit on using my 1911.

Any suggestions to cut down on the leading, or should I just ignore it and keep shooting?

Thanks

I shoot tons of cast lead bullets, even dabbling in casting my own. I've put thousands of 230gr LRN though my SA RO and my S&W 625JM. Neither have had leading issues with my standard major load of 3.9gr Clays at ~1.250. So lead and Clays are a well behaved combination in general. I would expect the issue to be elsewhere.

Depending on the source of your bullets, I suppose it's possible you have some very soft lead bullets. I'm used to shooting from a local manufacturer that advertises a 16 Brinnell on their packaging. That's a typical hardness for general purpose cast bullets. But if you got these through a trade or from someone who dabbled in casting it's possible they didn't alloy the lead up high enough.

I don't know that over crimping lead would promote severe leading, but we're always warned not to over crimp. So make sure you're just crimping enough to basically straighten the casing back out. I generally set my crimp to .001 less than the case just above the crimp -- just enough to have a measurable narrowing of the crimp and no more.