Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

The Common Bond

ima45dv8

Me, too. Actually, I'm the most conservative, safest driver I know. Of course, I have no sense of direction. But I know this. Thus I'm not one of those guys who gets offended when his girlfriend - who has an excellent sense of direction - tells me where to drive. My attitude is, "Oh thank God, someone in this car knows where we're going." :D

I'm really not sure if I'm a good driver or a bad one. As Socrates liked to say "Let us define our terms".

Hypothetically, lets say a responsible motorist was operating a Chevy Z-71 4X4 on a winding, hilly, gravel road in an unpopulated area. And, that said motorist was proceeding safely along at about 75 MPH, because that is the reasonable and customary "un-official" speed limit observed along this particular stretch of road by the few who frequent it. The motorist in question is scanning the road about 1/2 mile ahead when he/she, espies a sizeable flock of sheep that have not yet detected his/her approach. Understanding what unpredictable creatures sheep can be, our motorist decides it would be best to finish the banana that he/she is enjoing and place both hands at 10 and 2 on the wheel.

Our prudent motorist, closing fast on the flock's position, eyes them warily. Dipping into a shallow depression between hills the motorist loses sight of the flock momentarily. Emerging from the depression seconds later and catching just a little air, the fully alert vehicle operator realizes immediately that this particular flock of sheep have unanimously adopted the world view that their lot in life would be a whole lot better on the other (left) side of the road and have decided, en masse, to pursue that new goal forthwith.