Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Issues with Bayou 180gr TCG... crooked

screwj

Hi guys, i'm fairly new to reloading, its been about a year. I recently moved to 40 major from shooting 9 minor and have been learning the quarks about loading 40. Most of my issues were a small number of rounds loading MG 180 JHP seating crooked enough to not fit a Lyman case gauge, about 5% fail rate. Someone suggested I get the redding competition seating die, which I did, and actually have fixed my problem. I also was using the EGW U die, but switched back to the Lee full size without issues.

Then I decided to try out the bayous since i've read only good things about it. Same setup, 180gr bayou TCG, OAL is 1.2, but now I get 50% rejects because they are too crooked either at the middle of the casing, or the bullet starts running into the case stop and scrapes the polymer exposing lead. I've tried changing the redding die to seat as low as possible (touching the plate) and also tried raising it higher thinking I might be setting the bullet to early into the spring load in the die.

Has anyone had similar issues with Bayou or any cast/moly bullets? Im thinking of just going back to MG or Zero.

Thanks much guys!!

I load bayou 180 TCG bullets and seat with a redding competition die and have zero issues so it's not an issue inherent with the bullets and seating die. I've pulled several bullets and the coating is not scraped off anywhere.

Is failing the case gauge the only way you know there is an issue with the crooked ones or is it visibly defective?

When my rounds come around to where I set the bullet into the case, the whole base of the bullet fits in the expanded case mouth and the seater pushes it straight in. The bullet never gets crooked.

What are you using for an expander?

Edited by darkvibe

you need to expand more if you are shaving lead.