Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

9MM MAJOR FLAT

Shmella

Ive read a lot of posts about 9major and different loads to achieve major with different bullet weights. with bbl holes and without, some say this is better than that and some loads result in being flatter or softer than others. anyone have any videos to compare "flatness" between loads? another thing ive seen is certain loads seem to work better at higher powerfactors. again looking to see some video to playback and see the real results. is it more of a feel thing and a video would almost look the same? im new to shooting open and have seen some pretty flat shooting guns at shoots and just started playing with different loads with my gun so im still trying to find something that i like. But I figured with the advance in phone cameras, somebody has to have video displaying how flat a gun shoots especially with slomo video being available to anyone with an iphone.

"Flat" generally refers to how much the dot moves under recoil.

Really truly flat would be similar to a .22 where the dot barely

moves.

I just tried my TruBor with the same bullets, cases & primers, but

5.0, 5.5, 6.0 and 6.5 grains of WAC - The less powder, the

higher the groups hit the paper, and the more the dot moved

(because the comp wasn't "working" as well as with more powder).

Depends on your individual gun and grip, of course, but

I'm sure someone will come along with exactly what you asked

for - video of flatter. :cheers:

Some discussion here: http://www.brianenos.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=194707

Here's my Bedell super shorty shooting 9mm (9.4gr SP2 under 115gr):

and here's a slow mo video a friend grabbed when I was chronoing 38 super loads with two different barrel/comp setups (Bedell and Benny Hill), unfortunately we didn't note which load it was :blush:

Edited by kneelingatlas