Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

S1050 swaging .223 setup help needed

I have mixed brass that I'm wanting to run on a brass processing head. I have every station running well except for swage. I've read tons of stuff and am not getting it yet. This is my first time setting this head up. I have the Ballistic Tools primer pocket gauge.

When I've managed to get the gauge to go in the pocket, it is a bit shallow and the pocket bottom looks like it's lop sided.

Based on other threads I've read I'm adjusting it using LC brass I've separated out of mixed brass.

Any setup help appreciated.

Not being a dick, but adjust it according to the instructions in the manual. They are pretty explanatory. Once you adjust down the support arm lock it down tight. Then adjust up the swage rod. Find some crimped brass and swage them and then try to prime them. Once you get the crimped brass to prime easily then you have what you need.

DougC

The manual never discusses adjusting the swage rod.. I've got a few hours in this and no good swage, thought there might be something I'm not doing..

Looking into the case:

post-37924-141305071792_thumb.jpg

This makes me think it's pushing the case bottom down..?

post-37924-141305073596_thumb.jpg

If you're pushing the bottom of the primer pocket inward, the case is ruined.

The primer gauge doesn't have to fully engage. Remember, the crimp is only on the outer edge. Gauge a crimped case and notice that the gauge won't fit. Then adjust the swager to where the gauge will enter the case mouth. To verify, use a single stage press to push in a primer, then discard the primer.

I suggest that you get a representative case and cut a window in the bottom so you can see what is going on. As in the photo.

There is a wide amount of adjustment where the swag rod merely has to pass the crimp area.

CrimpArea.jpg

I cut my windows with a milling machine. You can use a dremel, hack saw, or a grinder.

SwagRod2.jpg

SwagRod1.jpg