Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

What am I doing wrong?

cjfarmer

I've noticed this in the last few USPSA matches I have shot. Almost every single target I have an alpha and a Charlie. I'm assuming that my first shot on target would be the alpha. Any advice? I'm fairly new to the whole pistol game.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

What kind of pairs are you shooting in practice?

With the front sight focus issue I agree it's best for pinpoint accuracy like in bullseye shooting but the targets are fairly close in USPSA and the A zone is big. I lose some front sight focus and look at the targets. Speed is essential in this game and watching the front sight won't get it.

TGO does an interesting YouTube video for Action Targets. Check it out.

Usually, if your C is off to one side it can be either a grip or stance issue. Are you consistently shooting to one side or the other?

Some shooters push the trigger to one side or the other at times. Are you sure you are pressing the trigger straight back.

There is a bullseye diagnostic chart that provides some preliminary diagnostics.

mgardneer; check out how many points down Nils has been at Nationals. I remember one Nationals where Roger said he was down only 7 points the entire match.

TGO does an interesting YouTube video for Action Targets. Check it out.

mgardneer; check out how many points down Nils has been at Nationals. I remember one Nationals where Roger said he was down only 7 points the entire match.

Actually TGO went on a little rant tonight about focusing on the front sight. LOL

Low left, assuming you're right handed, it's your trigger manipulation. Are you shooting a glock?

How is your bill drill? (6 alphas as fast as you can see your sights)

Keep the Bill Drill pace for your doubles by having the same feel on that second shot. Like you're doing a mini Bill Drill.

Don't dwell on the feel and get to the next target. Don't rush.