Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Bad qualification

SecretNY

Hi, I'm new to the board and looking for some advice. I'm a police officer and thought I was shooting well. I go to the range at least once a week (250-500 rds.) I carry a Sig p226 9mm and a p239 as a backup. At the range I use Winchester "White box" 9mm 115 gr. I get at Wal-mart. I practiced the qualification many times at the range with a perfect score, however, when I went to really qualify, we used our duty ammo. We carry Winchester Ranger 127 gr. +p+. To my shock, I didn't qualify the first time. I couldn't believe how poorly I did. Luckily, the second attempt was with the range ammo.

My question: I noticed how much more power was in the +p+ load. Is there something I need to do to shoot that kind of ammo.

I'm very concerned.

Thanks

It might be that you need to refine your grip and stance to better suit the hotter ammo.

It also could be a simple as needing to shoot some hotter ammo for a while to get used to it (you can get hot ammo that isn't the price of your duty ammo).

First, Thanks for what you are doing. I have a great respect for LE officers and what you do.

Second, I wouldn't be overly concerned. The core fundamentals you have proven time and again in practice are there. Core fundamentals being the operative words. The new ammo will take some getting used to, and if possible I'd advise you shoot it now and again to get a feel for it. Your body will quickly learn to adjust, and you'll be back to good quickly. Ultimately I would say it would be good to practice with these, or similar rounds (ala reloading ammo that "feels" the same)