Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Cleaning the forcing cone

Steve H

I recently started shooting the Revolver, and have noticed a bit of lead build up in the forcing cone....especially in my 625.........any cool, easy techniques for cleaning it out.

thanks

What type of projectiles you using?

I noticed virtually all leading disappeared when I went from cheap lead bullets, to coated lead bullets like the bayou bullets.

For the barrel, all 100% copper chore boy pads, or lewis lead remover

Edited by alecmc

I use a Lewis lead remover from Brownells.

I use the Lewis lead remover for the forcing cone. I did find that a little masking of vinyl tape wrapped around the aluminum cone let the brass mesh conform better to my S&W forcing cone and got the build up out quicker and easier.

For lead in the barrel I prefer some Copper Chore Boy scrubbing pad wrapped around an old cleaning brush to get lead out of the barrel. The Copper Chore Boy seems to work better with less elbow grease then the Lewis lead remover does on the barrel.

I use the Lewis Lead Remover and recently using some Copper Chore Boy also. I use the Lewis Lead Remover primarily on the forcing cone and some of the Copper Chore Boy wrapper around an old cleaning brush for the barrel. No problems with either product as they both work well and save time cleaning lead out quickly.

thanks fellas.........i was shooting the SNS coated bullets that I bought at Dillon, and recently shot some of the Billy Bullets....

I will get a Lewis Lead remover and give that a shot along with the copper Chore boy!

Steve H.

I also agree w/Warren. Shooting it out should be lots easier on the barrle in the long term rather than scraping it out.

I have the other part of the question. I don't understand how jacketed will clean the forcing cone. Could y'all add somemore about that job, please? Did I miss something?