Brian Enos's Forums... Maku mozo!

Clays newbie - Bought a Rem 870 EM with a 28in barrel

NicVerAZ

Bought a barely used 870 Express Magnum from a Pawn Shop for $200 OTD (not bad, since they sell it at Bass Pro Shop for $319 + tax.

It is actually this guy (although mine is a Magnum, no idea where to find the exact same model online):

http://www.basspro.com/Remington-reg-870-Express-12-Gauge-w-28-Barrel-Shotgun/product/10217875/

It is a rem-choke model, 4+1 and it included the hunting plug.

Is this a good shotgun to start with to just shoot skeet at the local range?

What shells can I buy for this purpose, as well as self defense (I know, this is not the best shotgun for self defense, but it's better than no gun)?

Also what accessories and upgrades should I think about getting?

Thanks for the help!

Edited by NicVerAZ

Hello: I am no expert but the pump shotgun will not be the best for skeet. The doubles on 1,2,6 and 7 will have to be shot quick. There are a couple of guys here that use them and do well. They practice for dove season. It does work well for trap. You will want a skeet choke for skeet and a modified for trap. Shells use 1 1/8oz #8 shot for both games. #9 shot may be better for skeet and #71/2 shot for trap. Shell holder pouch. Next just have fun. Thanks, Eric

I would agree that a pump is far from ideal, but add that I shot my first straight on a skeet field with a Mossberg 835. Can it be done? ABSOLUTELY! Will make you much better on a dove field or in a duck blind, etc. Plus, you can do a lot more with a pump gun than you can a pretty O/U and not worry about tossing it in the back of a truck.

My intention (at least not as of now) is not to be a succesful skeet shooter but rather improve my skills and later on take them to the 3-gun matches.

A 28 inch barrel is not proper for 3-gun and is not the best self-defense option either, therefore another 870 will probably dedicated to that use.

Hunting is also a further option.